Local Academy Board

Our Local Academy Board is committed to providing the best outcomes for the children at Sandiway Primary School. 

What do Local Academy Board members do?

The Local Academy Board members of Sandiway Primary School has responsibility for the education of the children in our school; some of this responsibility is devolved from the Trust, other aspects are reported to the Trust. They work on a voluntary basis as a critical friend to the Headteacher and staff of the school to ensure progress and success for all of our pupils. The Local Academy Board, whose membership includes the Headteacher, provides strategic leadership to the school and makes key decisions and recommendations to the Trust in areas such as finance, personnel and premises as well as monitoring educational performance.

Who are the members of the Local Academy Board?

Our Local Academy Board members are drawn from parents, staff and the community. This ensures that a wide range of views are brought to our meetings. 

Our Chair of the Local Academy Board is Mrs Emma Zouhbi. She can be contacted at ezouhbi@sandiway.cheshire.sch.uk or by post to the school's address. She would be happy to hear from parents, staff or other stakeholders of the school about any school business.

Member's attendance at meetings can be seen in a document below and previous attendance as Governors of the school prior to conversion to an academy. Business interests are also declared in a document below.

Our members of the Local Academy Board are:



Special responsibilities

Mrs Debbie Bertram

Mrs Kathryn Harvey         




Mr Ben Lambert


Sports Premium, Pupil Premium

Mrs Lauren Ogboru


Vice Chair of Local Academy Board, Behaviour & Attitudes, P.Dev

Mrs Emma Zouhbi


Chair of Local Academy Board, Finance, Safeguarding

Mrs Irene Hodkinson


Quality of Education

Mr Simon Williams


Health & Safety

Governors who have served in the last 36 months and have since retired:

Mrs Sarah Price, Mrs Clare Mackin, Mr Phil Morris, Mrs Sandra Prest, Mrs Sarah Elliott, Ms Julie Nichols, Mr David Parks-Smith, Mrs Clare Forsyth, Mrs Irene Hodkinson, Mr Robert Mawson, Mr David Purcell, Mr Steve Meeks


Members of the Local Academy Board with special responsibility/lead governors

Safeguarding / Finance / SEND - Mrs Emma Zouhbi

Pupil Premium / Sports Premium  - Mr Ben Lambert

Quality of Education / EYFS - Mrs Irene Hodkinson

Behaviour, Attitudes & Personal Development - Mrs Lauren Ogboru, 

Health & Safety -  Mr Simon Williams



The members meet formally twice a term, as a minimum, with committee meetings and visits to school taking place as required during the term.  They delegate the day-to-day administration of the school to the Headteacher, but are responsible for admissions, appointment of senior staff, the curriculum, the building and matters of finance. Our members strive to forge strong links with the school by accompanying the children on school visits or residentials, as well as visiting them in school. 

Should you wish to contact a member of the Local Academy Board, please direct your enquiry to the school office in the first instance.


Please note LAB attendance, business and pecuniary interests are recorded centrally by Create Learning Trust and can be found here - 


Files to Download

Sandiway Primary School

Weaverham Road, Sandiway, Cheshire, CW8 2ND

01606 883298admin@sandiway.cheshire.sch.uk